Blog post gets Published!

What started out as a bit of curiosity about the time-dependent toxicity of insecticides led to a blog piece I did a little over a year ago titled Time-dependent Toxicity of Imidacloprid in Bees and Ants.  I thought my results were interesting enough to get a comment from other scientists that were looking at the time-dependent toxicity question so I sent out the link to a few.  With the encouragement of especially Dr.Fransico Sanchez-Bayo at the University of Sydney in Austrailia, I went ahead expanded the research and we turned that blog post into a paper.  I am especaily grateful to my co-authors, especially Fransico Sanchez-Bayo and Nicolas Desneux, who shepparded the manuscript through the journal submission and review process.

So please take a look at the real thing.  We were published in Nature’s online publication Scientific Reports.

Delayed and time-cumulative toxicity of imidacloprid in bees, ants and termites,
Gary Rondeau, Francisco Sanchez-Bayo, Henk A. Tennekes, Axel Decourtye,
Ricardo Ramırez-Romero & Nicolas Desneux, Scientific Reports  07/2014; 4(5566):8. DOI: 10.1038/srep05566

 

5 Comments

  1. Very nicely done, Gary! Articulate, well-written, persuasive and quotable: Hopefully, your results will get on Bayers’ nerves.

  2. Congratulations Gary! When I first read the post I thought it was an analysis worthy of a peer-reviewed journal where it could get the exposure it deserves. Well done.

Leave a comment